Skip to main content

Residential Leasing Agents: Get Licensed

Join Thousands of Professionals Who Choose Real Estate Institute for Their School!

We helped thousands of students start their journey of becoming licensed real estate agents. Choose from two convenient licensing programs to fit your schedule and learning style. You can satisfy the entire 15-credit-hour Illinois pre-license education requirement by completing our state-approved Self-Study, Webinar, or Classroom course.

No matter which course you choose, we’ll ensure that you are well-prepared to pass the state exam.

Choose an Option to Fit Your Learning Style

SELF-STUDY

Complete at Your Own Pace

  • Satisfies entire Leasing Agent pre-license education requirement
  • Includes exclusive course materials
  • Instructor support - we are here for you!
  • Start anytime and complete at your own pace
  • Enroll now, pay later. Easy financing with Affirm Logo

CLASS OR WEBINAR

2 Full Days

  • Satisfies entire Leasing Agent pre-license education requirement
  • Includes exclusive course materials
  • Choose 2-days of classes or webinars
  • Convenient Chicagoland classroom locations include Niles, Lincoln Park, and Wicker Park
  • Enroll now, pay later. Easy financing with Affirm Logo

Illinois Residential Leasing Agent License Requirements:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Hold a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Complete a 15-credit-hour state-approved pre-license program
  • Pass the state license exam

Residential Leasing Agent Pre-License Blogs

Stay up-to-date or learn something new. Read some of our blogs:

  1. The Benefits of Networking in Real Estate
  2. A Career as an Illinois Residential Leasing Agent
  3. All Real Estate Blogs

Here's what our students are saying...

FAQs

Who is required to hold an Illinois Residential Leasing Agent License?

Anyone who assists landlords by showing rental properties, discussing lease terms, and completing lease agreements must hold a Residential Leasing Agent License in Illinois. This license is specifically for those who focus solely on rental activities and do not engage in buying or selling properties.

What is required to become a Residential Leasing Agent in Illinois?

State law requires that the applicant must:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Hold a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Complete a 15-credit-hour state-approved pre-license program
  • Pass the state license exam
  • Have a Sponsoring Broker

What are considered leasing activities?

Leasing activities include:

  • Leasing or renting residential property,
  • Collecting rent for the use of residential property, and
  • Attempting, offering, or negotiating to rent, lease, or collect rent for the use of residential property.

Can I lease commercial properties as a Residential Leasing Agent?

No. The Residential Leasing Agent license is specific to residential leasing activities. For leasing commercial properties, you must have a Real Estate Broker license. Please explore our Broker Pre-License programs for details on obtaining a Broker license.

If I already have my broker license in IL, do I need to get a Residential Leasing Agent license?

No. An IL broker license allows you to act as a residential leasing agent.

Have Additional Questions?

Visit the Help Center

Links and Additional Resources

Illinois Real Estate License Act of 2000 (Administrative Rules)
Source: Illinois General Assembly

Illinois Real Estate License Act of 2000 (Law)
Source: Illinois General Assembly


Real Estate Institute is approved by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation.
Education Provider #515.000001