Skip to main content
Currently Selected
Similar Programs
Enroll Now, Pay Later.
  • 12 Hour(s) Continuing Education
All Online: Anytime CE — Online Distance Education (SAVE $55.00)

Package Highlights

Online Icon  Online Distance Education

Brokers can complete their entire continuing education requirement with this "All Online" CE package, which may be completed anywhere at any time with Online Distance Education. Easily complete the online courses, which are broken out into shorter modules that you may complete at your own pace.  No final exam is required for these courses. 

This package includes:

  • The 4-Hour Core CE curriculum requirement, which must be completed by all Brokers.
  • Sexual Harassment Prevention training, which all Illinois Real Estate Brokers must complete before renewing their license.
  • REALTOR® Code of Ethics training, which members of the National Association of REALTORS® must complete every three years. The deadline for the current cycle was recently extended to December 31, 2021.
  • Modern, easy-to-complete, and informative course that was created just for Illinois real estate professionals.

About This Package

The following courses are Included:

  • 4-Hour Core: Keys to Compliance (4 Credit Hours)
  • Elective: Sexual Harassment Prevention (1 Credit Hour)
  • Elective: Ethical Practice (3 Credit Hours)
  • Elective: From Contracts to Closings (4 Credit Hours)


  1. If you prefer a program that includes live, interactive classes or webinars, consider our Classic CE Package.
  2. Newly licensed Brokers who are renewing their license for the first time must complete post-license education (instead of continuing education).
Frequently Asked Questions

Learn more about this license type and program:

View FAQs
IL Real Estate Post-License - Broker

This is my first time renewing my Broker license. How many hours of education must I complete?

Brokers renewing for the first time must complete the following for an on-time renewal:

45 credit-hours of post-license, consisting of three 15 credit hour courses:

    • Broker Post-License Transactional Issues (15 Hours)
    • Broker Post-License Risk Management & Discipline (15 Hours)
    • Broker Post-License Applied Brokerage Principles (15 Hours)
  • Sexual Harassment Prevention course module is included in the Risk Management & Discipline course.

Which Brokers must complete post-license education?

  • Brokers renewing for the first time.
  • Brokers who did not renew on-time for their first renewal and are applying for a late renewal of their license (within two years of expiration.)
  • All Brokers when applying for a restoration of their license (more than two years, but less than five years of expiration).


How do I know if this is my first license renewal period?

We recommend that you determine the "Original Issue Date" for your license one of two ways:

  1. Lookup your license at the IDFPR website. Note the "Original Issue Date."
  2. Call 800-995-1700 to speak with one of our knowledgeable customer service representatives. We'll review your state licensing record and explain your requirements.

What is the deadline for newly licensed Brokers to complete Post-License education?

Post-License education must be completed before license renewal. Brokers renew every two years by April 30 (in even years).

Note: A recent change to Illinois license law requires new Brokers to have additional supervision until they complete their 45 hours of Post-License education. Until Post-License is complete, a licensee’s Designated Managing Broker must:

  • Directly handle all earnest money
  • Directly handle contract negotiations
  • Approve all advertisements involving the newly licensed Broker

Therefore, there is a great benefit to complete Post-License education soon after you become licensed, and not wait until the end of the license renewal.


I was informed that I need to have additional supervision from my Designated Managing Broker until I complete Post-License education.  Is that true?

Yes.  Illinois license law requires new Brokers to have additional supervision until they complete their 45 hours of Post-License education. Until Post-License is complete, a licensee’s Designated Managing Broker must:

  • Directly handle all earnest money
  • Directly handle contract negotiations
  • Approve all advertisements involving the newly licensed Broker

The additional oversight on newly licensed Brokers’ business activities could slow things down, which is why completing this education soon after receiving your license number is recommended. 

How can I complete Post-License with Real Estate Institute?

We offer one simple and convenient package to complete your 45 hour Post-License training.

It is our "All Online" package in which all your education is completed through an online distance education format.  This format allows you to login and complete your courses at your pace and time. 

Do I also need continuing education in my first renewal as a Broker?

No. New Broker licensees are only required to complete post-license education in their first renewal. Continuing education will be required for all subsequent renewals.

Do I need to complete a Sexual Harassment Prevention course?

Yes, 1 hour of Sexual Harassment Prevention training is required to be completed during each license renewal period.  This course must be completed live or online. Self-study is not permitted.

This course requirement is included in our 45 hour Post-License program.

Will the school report my credit to the state upon successful completion of my course(s)?

Yes. Upon successful completion of the program, the school will electronically report your course completion to the appropriate state agency or state vendor.

After I complete the post-license program, will I have to pass a state exam (at the exam center)?

No state exam is required, since you are already licensed.

Are Real Estate Institute's courses approved by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation?

Yes. Real Estate Institute offers pre-license, post-license, and continuing education programs that are approved by the IDFPR and have been specifically designed to satisfy your licensing requirements.

Can I complete any of the 30 hour Post-License courses for my 45 hour Post-License requirement or vice versa?

No.  The IDFPR will not accept any 30 Hour Post-License courses to count toward a licensee's 45 hour requirement or vice versa.  It's very important to confirm how many credit hours you require and enroll in the correct Post-License program.

The IDFPR deactivated the courses that made up the 30 hour Post-License training in November 2020.  All licensees who require Post-License must complete the 45 hour Post-License program.

Does post-license require a final exam?

30 Hour Post-License Programs

  • Any course delivered in a self-study (book-based) course format will require a final, proctored exam.

45 Hour Post-License Programs

  • All courses require a final exam, but it does not require to be proctored and is included at the end of each 15 hour online course.

I'm not active in real estate; do I have to take post-license education?

Yes. To renew your license you must satisfy the post-license requirement prior to your first renewal. Although you may be inactive in the real estate business, you are not exempt from the requirement.

Are Attorneys exempt from Real Estate education?

All attorneys who are currently registered to practice law in Illinois are exempt for all real estate education requirements, but must submit the required renewal fee and application to the IDFPR.  Attorneys are also exempt for completing the new Sexual Harassment Prevention course.

What is the school's refund policy?

School policies, including our refund policy, can be viewed here.

Real Estate Institute is approved by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation.
Education Provider #515.000001